Name: James
ID#: A138965
Estimated Date of Birth: April 28, 2022
Sex: Neutered Male
Estimated Breed: German Shepherd Mix
Weight: 40 lbs.
Good with dogs: Yes
Good with cats: Unknown
Good with children: Yes
Special/Medical Needs: None
Estimated Energy Level: Medium
Current Location: Calgary, AB

Updated bio
James has been such a pleasure to foster, he’s a very happy boy with a waggy tail, and a good balanced temperament. He has settled into his foster home so nicely and plays with his canine foster sister every day. When James first arrived here from the Shelter in California, the first thing he did was indulge in the basket of dog toys and carry one with him everywhere he went for several days. He also sprawled out on the couch, as if he had never felt anything so comfortable in his life, he still usually sleeps on the couch at night and loves to snuggle.
He is fully house trained and has made big improvements in basic house manners, such as not jumping up on counters anymore or trying to steal food off plates or other dog dishes. He stands quietly by the back door when he wants to go out. He loves playing in the backyard and enjoys spending lots of time out there when it’s nice out. He has not tried to escape from the yard even when the gate was left open a couple times. He is not a big barker but will bark to warn when he hears someone approach the yard or the front door.
He is really good on a leash, doesn’t pull much and is receptive to gentle correction. He has a healthy appetite, making him very food motivated, and easy to train. He’s very eager to please his humans. He is very playful and likes meeting new dogs. He seems to adapt to the other dog’s playstyle. He would absolutely love to have a canine companion in his family but would also be ok without one as long as he got enough attention from his humans and has the opportunity to play with other dogs sometimes.
He does not like the kennel much and has been mostly left out of the kennel while in my care (he can be coaxed in with treats). He stays out of the kennel when I go to work every day and is confined to the living room with my dog, where they gaze out the window and sleep until I return (I check in on them over the baby-cam periodically throughout the day).
He is still only a 1-year-old dog and will need some more guidance, patience, and reinforcement of good behaviors. He knows commands such as “sit” and “down”. He knows his name and comes when called in the yard, but he hasn’t been tested in an off-leash dog park scenario yet.
He has experienced some motion sickness on car rides, which hopefully he can grow out of over time.
Overall, he is a sweet, good-tempered boy who just wants a family that will love him as much as he loves them.

Adoption costs: $650.00