Johnny Cash (Mr. Boxer)



Johnny Cash
ID # OS20221017-6
Estimate Age: 1.5 year old
Sex: Neutered male
Estimated Breed: Boxer Mix
Weight: 62 lbs.
Good with dogs? Yes, may have too much energy for a senior dog
Good with cats? Unknown
Good with children? Unknown, but likely yes with older children
Special/Medical Needs: Separation Anxiety
Estimated Energy Level: Medium to High
Minimum Adoption Fee: $650
Current Location: Calgary, AB

A little bio about Johnny:

My name is Johnny Cash – which may be because I am able to sing a little howling tune. I don’t do it often – mostly when a human is howling along with me for fun or I’m missing my mamma. My foster mom and dad and all the people I have met think I’m the most beautiful dog with the most amazing personality. I am calm and gentle most of the time, but also like to play with other dogs. I have not been around many small dogs, but I definitely love getting a little rambunctious with the medium – larger sized dogs. As long as my mamma is around!! I get along great with people of all ages and sizes! I’m gentle with children who like to pet me and LOVE a good snuggle for anyone willing. I have never been mouthy or even growled at another dog when we meet on our long walks. I’m a great walker and don’t pull on my leash at all. I like to meet the other dogs along the way, but usually, if they’re not interested in meeting me, I just carry on my way. I don’t like to ‘do my business’ on my walks, and generally just keep it to 1 bush in the yard for number 1 and down the side of the house on the rocks for my number 2 (I like my privacy!) I have become extremely attached to my mamma very quickly and do NOT like my crates. I have broken through 2 of them. I was left in the house a couple times outside of the crate and scratched the door so hard I broke a nail! I did not intentionally chew or damage anything, but I did try and get out the door my mom left out of and jumped on her desk trying to look out the window to see when she’d be back. I’m not a big fan of her leaving me with other people, but I’m getting better. My dad has reinforced my metal crate so they’re hoping I can’t escape from that next time I’m left in the house. They’re continuing to work with me on my separation anxiety and I’ve started taking some medicine to help calm me so I don’t hurt myself.

As long as mamma is around, I am 100% the perfect dog. I sleep on the floor next to my mom’s side of the bed and don’t get up until she does in the morning. I don’t have accidents in the house (unless I’m left alone), and my favourite thing is snuggling on the couch with my mommy or my little human brothers. My mom’s only heard me bark once, but I will howl if she leaves me alone. I’d really like to be in a home with another 4 legged puppy friend. I’ve been around a cat once, but I didn’t pay any attention to him nor did he to me. If I had my wish for the perfect home, it would come with some windows at the front of the house that I could watch outside for my mom instead of jumping on her desk to see outside the front of the house. I love to go for car rides (though it took me a few times to realize that I wasn’t being taken somewhere bad before I would happily jump in the car). My foster mom and dad say I’m a 99.9% perfect dog, just need to work on my separation anxiety. And I’m smart too!! I already know how to sit and would love to learn some new tricks. I love most dog treats, but if they’re too crunchy, I’ll probably just make a mess spitting them out. Watermelon and cheese are some of my other favourite treats that I take so politely after I sit nicely. No being mouthy or jumping. I only jump up on my foster mom when she comes home from being away, but nobody else. I just love my foster mom the most.

Adoption costs: $650.00